BFA 2017 Club Championships

BFA 2017 Club Championships


The 2017 BFA Club Championships is a team competition open to all BFA Clubs. It consists of the BFA London League, the BFA National League and culminates in the Premier League Finals

The BFA Club Championships have been played since 2011, past winners include Southampton Rockets (2011), Bar Kick (2013), Cambridge TFC (2014), Bar Kick (2015/16), and Shoreditch Hotshots (2016/17).


The UK is split into two divisions:

BFA London League – All teams in the London Area (within the M25)

The London League is a separate competition. Now in its 5th season, with fixtures played home and away over the course of the year, now divided into A & B divisions for established players and newcomers.

BFA National League – All teams outside the London Area (London teams may participate). Clubs can join the competition at any point during the year, but only matches played in 2017 will count towards the points total.

Because the distribution of active player bases in the UK is uneven, it has been difficult to organise successful home/away leagues outside the London area, and so a radical alternative solution was introduced in 2016 to allow for a more flexible yet meaningful competition, reducing barriers to participation.

Instead of forcing clubs into formal regional league competitions (these may still occur where viable), each club may play any other UK club once at home and once away throughout the course of the year. In addition clubs may meet in team competitions at tournaments – where the majority of fixtures take place. Clubs can play as few or as many opponents as they wish whether in a regional league format or informal challenge matches, but only their best ten results in 2017 will count.

Clubs seeking to be competitive and willing to travel to away fixtures and tournaments will be those competing for honours at the end of the year, whereas clubs simply willing to host other clubs for occasional home matches are free to do so with no obligation to travel, and will get a league position for doing so. The format also give established clubs an incentive to encourage the development of new clubs in their region as potential opponents.

Clubs are allocated to Division A or Division B according to the players’ rankings in their squads.

Division A – All teams with two or more semi-pro (plus) players compete in Division A.

Division B – Teams with no more than one squad player ranked Semi-Pro or above (at the date of registration) may compete in Division B.

Both divisions have their own separate league tables, however clubs can still play any other club (Div A or B) to gain points in their own division, but with differential points at stake (see below).


Clubs must state the dates and times they are available to play home fixtures, and cannot refuse a Fixture Request/Challenge from an away team on these occasions without good reason (e.g. prior fixture or venue closure).

Matches should comprise a minimum of 10x games (default 4x singles, 6x doubles) when played home and away (max 2x singles/2x doubles, or 4x doubles games per player).

For team competitions within tournaments matches should comprise a minimum of 5x games (2x singles, 3x doubles – max 1x singles/1x doubles, or 2x doubles games per player).

For home-away fixtures, If both captains agree, further singles or doubles games can be included in matches between larger teams, provided the match includes at least 4x singles and 6x doubles games, no player (in the larger team) plays more than 4x games as above, and the total number of games is agreed at the start of the match.

Teams must have a minimum of 4x players to complete a fixture. There is no maximum number provided the players are registered with your club.

In the event of a team only having 3x players available for a match each singles player plays with the third player in doubles with the 3rd doubles game(s) forfeited.

The default game format is first to score 6 goals with a tie declared at 5-5, with no handicapping. One point for a win, half a point each for a tie.

If both captains agree (or if directed by a tournament organizer) the games may alternatively be handicapped first to 7x goals with a one goal start for the lower-ranked team per difference in rank.

Clubs can play both legs of a home/away match on the same occasion/location provided each club is able to play on its ‘home’ table type.

All match scores must be reported to [email protected] within 7 days.

Results Collation

All results from the National League will be entered into A or B Tables/Club Ranking list, including results from regional leagues, team competitions at tournaments, and challenge matches between clubs.

Points are awarded as follows for matches as follows

Within a division (Div A plays Div A or Div B plays Div B):

– 5 points for a win

– 3 points for a tie

– 1 point for a defeat

For matches between teams in different divisions differential points are awarded as follows:

Division A playing Division B

– 3 points for a win

– 2 points for a tie

– 1 point for a defeat

Division B playing Division A

– 7 points for a win

– 5 points for a tie

– 3 points for a defeat

Only each team’s best ten results will count towards their points total. In the event of teams finishing level on points, the game average (ratio of games won to games lost) will decide the position. If two or more teams have maximum points at the end of the season all their results will be taken into account in determining their game win/loss ratio.

National Finals (BFA Premier League)

To play in the 2017-8 Premier League teams must qualify for the finals. There are three routes to qualification

Via the BFA London League (top 3 Division A plus winners division B)

Via the BFA National League (top 3 Division A plus winners division B)

Winners of BFA Team Competitions at UK Tournaments

At the end of the season the top ranked teams will qualify for free entry to the National finals to be held in a central location during Jan/Feb 2018 alongside the top clubs from the London League and winners of team competitions at tournaments. The finals will be restricted to 12x teams maximum. Any spare slots may be taken by non-qualified teams paying entry fees provided they have competed in the London or National leagues at some point during 2017. The Premier League will determine the National Champions and which clubs qualify for the European Champions League. There is therefore an incentive for teams seeking to compete at a higher level to fulfil as many fixtures as they can.